Welcome to Flagstaff Hill Scout Group
Be prepared for Adventure

Our History

The first meeting of the Flagstaff Hill Scout Group was held at Flagstaff Hill Primary School on Monday 31 October 1977. The inaugural leaders were John Michell (Akela), Di Strutton (Baloo), Jan Darrett (Bagheera) and Alan Reddy (Kaa).

The Group moved into the current complex named Taikaringa in 1988 which was officially opened in September of 1989.

Group Leadership

Over the course of our history we have had a strong Leader team steering the Group in the right direction.

  • 1977 to 1979 – Warren Jarrett
  • 1979 to 1984 – Rob Mollison
  • 1989 to 1993 – Diane Strutton
  • 1993 to 2009 – Mich Geerlings
  • 2009 to 2012 – Craig Bugden
  • 2012 to current – Chris Wise
Be prepared to connect.

Facebook and Instagram are fantastic ways to promote Scouting. Please enjoy their use by posting photos and stories about the great activities you are doing in Scouts.