The concept of SPICES relates back to Scouting’s worldwide Purpose – to contribute to the education of young people in achieving their full physical, intellectual, emotional, social and spiritual potentials as individuals.
The acronym SPICES is used to help both youth and adults remember the five areas of personal growth that the program objectives focus on. The sixth area included in the acronym is Character; it’s the sum of all the other areas of personal growth.

We understand that every youth member will develop at different rates, in different ways, and from different experiences. What is most important is Scouts being able to identify how they have grown during the program cycle to become aware of their own personal progression. This is really an individual thing – one Scout may develop in a very different area to another from the same activity. For one Scout, participating in an outdoor rock-climbing adventure could be purely a physical development; for another, from the same activity, could conquer their fear of heights and may find they have developed emotionally or spiritually. Through personal reflection, progress through each of the SPICES will be based on the individual.

Social Development

Social development refers to belonging to a group, one’s relationships with others, and understanding differences between people in small groups of peers, along with issues of diversity and inclusion in larger communities.

Physical Development

Physical development refers to one’s understanding of one’s body, including active care for health, wellbeing, and the pursuit of physical skills and fitness.

Intellectual Development

Intellectual development refers to one’s ability to think, plan, innovate, review and be creative, applying information, knowledge, and skills in new and different circumstances.

Character Development

Character development refers to the pursuit of personal best. It includes a positive attitude, responsibility, respect, and making an effort beyond what benefits the self. It encapsulates personal growth in the five other SPICES.

Emotional Development

Emotional development refers to the need for understanding of one’s own emotions and the emotions of others. It includes awareness of how a person is feeling, expressing emotions in a positive manner, as well as respecting and supporting the emotional needs of others.

Spiritual Development

Spiritual development refers to the development of a person’s beliefs regarding their purpose in life, connection to others, place in the world around them, while respecting the spiritual choices of others.

Be prepared to connect.

Facebook and Instagram are fantastic ways to promote Scouting. Please enjoy their use by posting photos and stories about the great activities you are doing in Scouts.

ADDRESS 83 Greenhill Rd, Wayville, SA, 5034, Australia

Terms & Conditions

This site is made available by Scout Association of Australia, South Australian Branch Incorporated [ABN 35 621 021 366] and is referred to as Scouts SA, “us”, “we”, “our” in these Terms and Conditions. Your use of this internet site, and the purchase of any goods from us, is subject to these Terms and Conditions. You agree to be bound by these Terms and Conditions by accessing, browsing, and purchasing from this website.

© 2024 Scouts SA
Site by EnvyUs Design